Plastics Technology

MAY 2012

Plastics Technology - Dedicated to improving Plastics Processing.

Issue link: https://pty.epubxp.com/i/63426

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 3 of 75

www.ptonline.com 2 West 46th Street, Suite 205, New York, NY 10036 tel (646) 827-4848 fax (513) 527-8801 Richard G. Kline, Jr.| publisher rkline2@gardnerweb.com James J. Callari | editorial director/ assoc. publisher jcallari@ptonline.com Matthew H. Naitove | executive editor mnaitove@ptonline.com Kate Hand | sr. managing editor khand@gardnerweb.com P. 17 CLOSE-UP 13 EXTRUSION A new supplier with a familiar name joins ranks of downstream extrusion equipment suppliers. 17 STRETCH BLOW MOLDING New options in stretch-blow emerged at NPE2012. 20 BLOW MOLDING The right time for all-electric machines? NPE2012 exhibits suggest yes. 22 TAIPEI PLAS Taiwanese machine builders are developing more end-high technology, according to this pre-show report. KNOW HOW 26 MATERIALS Are we moving too quickly on biopolymers? 28 INJECTION MOLDING What 'cushion' is and why it's important. 31 EXTRUSION How much screw cooling is enough? INSIGHTS & STRATEGIES 32 TROUBLESHOOTING Getting wood-plastic composites done right. 64 WOOD ON PLASTICS Oil prices impacting packaging. 65 RESIN-BUYING STRATEGIES Commodity pricetags dipping. 72 PROCESSOR STRATEGIES Drying PET with 'waste' heat. 2 MAY 2012 PLASTICS TECHNOLOGY KEEPING UP WITH TECHNOLOGY 56 EXTRUSION Coex line for medical micro-tubing. Tiniest blown film line ever. 57 COMPOUNDING Lab ribbon/paddle blender. 57 TOOLING Dry-ice mold cleaner. 57-58 MATERIALS Silver antimicrobial compounds. New source of rigid PVC compounds. 58-60 AUXILIARIES Hand-held, accurate micrometer. Hand- held plasma treater. High-output airlocks. Plant air cooling/dehumidification. IN EVERY ISSUE 4 STARTING UP New benchmark of resin moldability. Foamed films and sheet at NPE2012. Refurbishing twin-screw elements. Metal, plastic combine in new ways. 9 EDITORIAL NPE2012: A real humdinger. 67 MARKETPLACE NEXT MONTH Website locator, literature, and classified advertising. NPE2012 reports on injection molding, extrusion, blow molding, thermoforming, tooling, auxiliaries, additives. Trouble-shooting sheet. Better vacuum conveying. Debbie Galante Block | contributing editor debgalante@aol.com Carl Kirkland | contributing editor cksrvcs@aol.com Mikell Knights | contributing editor mknights@ptonline.com Lilli Manolis Sherman | contributing editor lillisherman@yahoo.com John Bozzelli | columnist john@scientificmolding.com Jim Frankland | columnist jim.frankland@comcast.net Steve Johnson | columnist steve.johnson@toolingdocs.com Mike Sepe | columnist mike@thematerialanalyst.com Bill Wood | columnist billwood@plasticseconomics.com Sheri Kuchta Briggs | art director sbriggs@gardnerweb.com Becky Helton | ad production manager bhelton@gardnerweb.com SUBSCRIPTIONS P. Ross Jacobs | circulation manager rjacobs@gardnerweb.com | (513)-527-8800 ADVERTISING SALES Louis R. Guarracino | assoc. publisher loug@ptonline.com CORPORATE Richard G. Kline, CBC | president Melissa Kline Skavlem | coo Steven R. Kline, CBC | executive v.p. Richard G. Kline, Jr. | group publisher Ernest C. Brubaker | treasurer Jason Fisher | director of i.s. William Caldwell | advertising manager Tom Beard | senior v.p., content

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Plastics Technology - MAY 2012